Really? Vitamin D??

vitaminD

Living On Oxygen for Life

I had my annual physical today. I went a week ago to the lab to get my blood work done in advance so that I can have the results waiting for the doctor when I showed up for my appointment. I already knew that my vitamin D was deficient. My vitamin D deficiency has been documented as far back as nearly 3 years ago. Though, since taking Tracleer, it’s probably been low for long while. About 3 years ago, I started on prescribed vitamin D. It was high potency and I only had to take it once a month. Unfortunately, I was discouraged every time I took it because I would have stomach cramps for a few days afterwards. So, I told the doctor and he said just take an over-the-counter Vitamin D-3 supplement. Well, I bought the stuff but didn’t really take it. (Shame on me! I know!)

Are you wondering why I’m telling you this? Well, I have been feeling so out of it. I’ve had no energy or desire to do anything and it seemed to get worse and worse. When I got to the point where I just couldn’t stand it any longer, I went online and started looking around. According to an article on Webmd.com: Higher levels of Vitamin D have been linked to better lung functions test. Though the only people it has shown to benefit were those who had extremely low levels of Vitamin D.

I was wondering, since I knew that my Vitamin D levels were low, could being deficient in vitamin D be part of why I’ve been so tired? Some of the symptoms of being Vitamin D deficient, according to Dr. Frank Lipman’s website:

  • Fatigue
  • General muscle pain & weakness
  • Restless sleep
  • Poor concentration
  • Headaches
  • High blood pressure
  • I’m now back to taking my vitamin D supplement. I started taking them again the day after my lab work was done a week ago. I’m glad I am taking them. I feel awake and I feel like I can do a lot more without feeling like I just want to quit in the middle of doing it because I’m so tired. It’s not the “sleepy” kind of tired but the “drained of energy” type of tired. I also got my Pneumonia shot today, hearing and vision checked. I like messing with the nurse who does the testing for my vision and hearing. She doesn’t always remember that I can’t hear in my right ear. She said, “You can’t hear that??” I’m like, “Hear what? OH!! You started the test!” lol!

    Remember to always check with your doctor before you start or stop any medication or supplement. You may not realize that some medications, supplements or herbal supplements can interact with whatever medications you’re currently taking.

    Check me out on Instagram as Christinelovesdaisies or on Facebook at: http://www.facebook.com/livingono2forlife

    2 thoughts on “Really? Vitamin D??

    1. I have been on Vitamin D for several years. Besides not feeling so tired, I din’t have depression like I did. I especially get that in Jan/feb each year. I think you will feel differently if you continue it as the dr says. I sure do. Love you

      • Now that you mention it, I do seem to feel… happier? Definitely less doom and gloom. 🙂 It continuously amazes me how one thing can throw a body out of wack! I told my doctor today about the turnaround change I’ve felt since restarting the vitamin D supplement. He was surprised. I’m sticking with it this time…religiously. Love you too!!

    Thank you for posting a comment. All comments will be reviewed for spam before being posted on this blog. It's only to prevent a spam overload. Thank you! .... Christine

    