I’m home from vacation!

44-21

Living On Oxygen for Life

I’m back from my vacation and I sure missed you, my loyal followers! I hope you’ve been keeping an eye on the Instagram widget that’s in the right column of my blog because I’ve been sharing with you some of my fun pictures of my vacation! Every year about this time, my husband and I go on a special vacation because it is the week we celebrate my birthday and our wedding anniversary. Yes, you heard me right! I get a whole week of celebrating for my birthday and because our anniversary happens to fall on the day of my birthday (we planned it that way!), our anniversary gets celebrated for a whole week too! My husband is one who feels that birthdays are just another day.. that is, he felt that way until he met me. Birthdays are very very important to me. It’s the day that God decided that there should be someone special placed on Earth to make a difference in someone else’s life and that person is you. That’s right. YOU are special. K (my husband) goes out of his way to make this day very special for me. I’ve fought the LONG hard battle to make it to age 44 and every year I make it to the next birthday is a celebration.

Roadtripmascot

I once asked my previous Pulmonologist the question that no doctor wants to answer. Amazingly, he answered it. I asked him how long he thought I would live. He told me he thought I could live (with all the health problems that I have) to the age of 40 or 45. Here I am at 44 years old and so very excited to see what the next year holds in store for me. So, we are trying to decide what we should do and where we should go (with Klondike, our rubber chicken roadtrip mascot!) to celebrate. Family members will be involved to be sure!

I’m happy I made it to 44 years old but a little scared too. I won’t lie to you about that. My husband is taking my health declining every year very well (or so it seems on the outside). I know it’s hard on him because he is taking on more and more responsibility around the house. He wheels me around in my wheelchair and assists me by making my needs a priority. On vacation, he doesn’t complain about how much we load in and unload out our van when we stop for the night. Trust me. It’s A LOT! This year we decided to make a pitstop in New Orleans!! It was a last minute decision to break up the trip to Destin, Florida. K didn’t know for sure that I would do well with driving 12 hours straight to Destin… with our pup, Rocco, and we’ve never been to New Orleans (which we’ve always wanted to go there! It was AWESOME!).

alligator

neworleans

In New Orleans, I had my first taste of Alligator! It was great! We ate at Pat O’brien’s Restaurant on Bourbon Street. Um… a word about Bourbon Street.. It STINKS! No, really, It stinks bad!!! You can actually smell it before you get there. K pushed me in my wheelchair! Watch out for the horse poop and pee!! hehe!

crabcake

Now you know that when in Destin, so close to fresh seafood, we had to sample some crab cakes, grouper sandwiches, and shrimp. This is a picture of one of two very large, very delicious crab cakes. But I have to admit, my husband makes better. I suppose I’m biased! hehe!

The good thing was that there was a Lincare located in Mary Esther – near Fort Walton Beach area so that I can refill my liquid oxygen tanks. As usual, we go to them so that they can fill the tanks. I try very hard to make it easier on the route drivers because we are disrupting their delivery schedule to their local clients. I know how I would feel if my driver would be late arriving with my needed oxygen. So we make it a point to be on time and get it done as quickly as possible.

Please FOLLOW my blog by entering your email address in the box in right column so that you will be notified when I post new stories, articles, and fun pictures. If you don’t have the Instagram app, you can still click on the picture to see all the pictures I’ve taken! Enjoy your weekend! I plan to post another “IN THE KITCHEN” within the next few days. My sister is coming down this weekend and I’ll be busy playing with my niece but I’ll try to get it posted! Don’t forget to check out my Facebook Page too!

8 thoughts on “I’m home from vacation!

  1. Christine, have you ever tried a scooter? I bought one a couple of years ago for traveling and long distance walking. It’s been great. I don’t use it very often, but it’s wonderful for museums, going downtown, and anywhere that requires a lot of walking. I used to have to try and keep up with my friends and now they have to keep up with me!

    • Cindy,
      I read your comment to my husband and I said that I would love the scooters that we saw in Destin, FL but those were of a different type (I think) than you are referring to. K was thinking that the scooters are like the ones that are found at Walmart but the ones that I saw in Florida were 2 or 3 wheeled scooters that people could rent and looked so fun! Then K said that is just one more thing he’d have to pack in the van for vacation. lol!! I think he has his limits on how much he can stuff in our van. haha! I don’t think I could handle a scooter on my own and my wheelchair works out well for me for now. *HUGS* to you Cindy!

      • Girl!!! That is a sweet ride! Where do you put your oxygen? I’m not sure if I have the energy to disassemble and put it together. Doesn’t it make you short of breath doing that yourself or do you have a helper?

      • HI Christine,
        My scooter breaks down into three parts. The seat comes off, the battery comes out, and the front/handle bars fold down.Makes the weight much easier to handle. It’s very easy to store or load into our pick-up bed or hatch back in the car. It’s light enough that I can help load it. I probably couldn’t load it my self now though. Ramps or hoists are available, too. I walk when I can, but like has already been said, sometimes it’s really necessary to make the most of an outing without getting fatigued.
        Anything to make the day easier is great! Love the cup holder too! :o)

      • That’s so cool! You just gotta have that cup holder, right?? 🙂 I’m sure someday I’ll be ready for a scooter but for now, my husband doesn’t mind pushing me in my wheelchair. It did GREAT on Bourbon St. in New Orleans with all the bumpy bricks and cracked cement. I was SO sore the next morning though. haha!

  2. I put my oxygen in the basket on the front. If I need to take two portables, I put the second one in between my legs. It works out quite well. I can assemble and load the scooter by myself with effort (I usually have to rest in between), but if someone is with me, they help me. I don’t have a cup holder, though!

Thank you for posting a comment. All comments will be reviewed for spam before being posted on this blog. It's only to prevent a spam overload. Thank you! .... Christine

