I can’t believe I forgot!

Living On Oxygen for Life

Normally, I would write these important dates down but this time, I don’t know what happened! I just simply forgot to write it on my calendar in my iphone. It’s where all my doctor appointments (and new upcoming movies that I want to see!) are stored. I got a phone call yesterday afternoon. The nurse called to say, “Hey, we’ll be seeing you tomorrow for your doctor appointment at 11am.” I was like, “What?” and then I think I said, “When? What? What?” My mind was scrambling hard to remember something so forgotten that I was freaking out. So, ok, I have a doctor appoint for what was then, tomorrow but now it is today. You still following me?? Anyway, I’ve just pulled into a parking space and I got my cellphone out to check the time (make sure I wasn’t late!)… when it rang! SWEET it was my sister calling me. Don’t worry. I was early for my appointment. I’m a pretty punctual person.

Well, my sister told me about a new device hoping to become approved by the FDA. She is a PA and she’s always on the lookout for new medicines or any information that can help my health. I have awesome sisters!

This little device is called CardioMEMS HF Pressure Measurement System (HF System) and what it does is monitor the pulmonary pressures from within the distal pulmonary artery. It allows the patient to take daily readings at home using a computer system or for an out-patient setting using the computer system and antenna designed for hospital use.

My question is: Couldn’t this help PH patients keep from having so many Right-Heart Catherizations? Granted it doesn’t read the right heart pressures. It only reads the systolic, diastolic and mean pulmonary artery pressures as well as heart rate. Would daily or near daily monitoring of our Pulmonary Pressure help with steering a patient to the right or best form of PH therapy? For those who have been diagnosed with Primary Pulmonary Hypertension or Heart Failure, I think this little permanently implanted device could help a lot.

I want to remind all of you that November is
 

Pulmonary Hypertension Awareness Month

Thank you for posting a comment. All comments will be reviewed for spam before being posted on this blog. It's only to prevent a spam overload. Thank you! .... Christine

