How long will I survive when I’m dependent on oxygen?

Living On Oxygen for Life

This is a common question that I see when people find my blog. It’s an honest question that we all want to know the answer to. Unfortunately, unless you are psychic (which I’m not), we just won’t know what that answer will be. With that being said, how long you will live really depends on a few things. Living longer means wearing your oxygen as prescribed, taking your medicine as prescribed, staying active but rest when your body says you need a break, and be smart about taking care of yourself. Don’t expose yourself to people who are sick, eat right, and never give up the fight to live a quality life you deserve. Make this a goal.

I’ve used oxygen for the past 27 years. It’s started out at night time use only when I slept. Now it’s 24/7. It is worth it to fight hard for living longer. By fighting hard, what I mean is to keep a positive attitude. Somedays it will be harder than others. Sometimes you may just want to crawl into your bed and just throw the covers over your head. Crawling in bed or having a bad day or having a lazy day is ok as long as you remember that this is temporary and that you are not going to cave in… or just give up. Because, once you give up, your health declines.

Having a someone close to you who you can turn to when those down days occur and you need a pep talk is a fabulous thing to have. For me, I have my older sister and my husband.

Make everyday one step forward by being aware of how much you love life.

10 thoughts on “How long will I survive when I’m dependent on oxygen?

  1. This post is absolutely dead on Christine! I have had those days and I just want to give up! But I can’t not only for myself but for my daughter. Having oxygen 24/7 is a struggle but if we give up we have nothing. Not an option for me! Keep fighting the fight! Wishing everyone a wonderful THANKSGIVING…

    • Thank you Aunt B. I had to edit your comment. I’m so sorry but I don’t use their names because I want to maintain privacy for them. I love you so much. You were always a significant part of my childhood. I wish you could come for another visit. Any chance of that?? *hugs*

  2. When I was diagnosed with each of my consecutive conditions, I had one doctor tell me (without my asking) that I only had a 50% chance of living 5 years and a 10% chance of living 10 years. I turned to him and asked him where exactly did he see an expiration date stamped on me? It is now seven years later and to the confusion of all my doctors, I am improving. I never worry about how long I have on this planet. I live each day at a time and enjoy it to the best of my ability. I could be worried about when all these conditions will eventually kill me, and while I am standing there worrying about it, a bus could jump the curb and kill me.

  3. Another post from you that helps me keep on keeping on. Your posting keeps people like you and I keep up the faith. Christine is a lot worse off then most of us, but by seeing her strength it helps us all carry on. What a wonderful person she must be…to try and help us out when she is so much more hurt then we are.
    I hope she lives to be 100 years old, if not for her, but for the help she gives to us and others. God bless you Christine for all you do. We love ya.

  4. I have not been officially diagnosed, but have symptoms of COPD and possibly PH. I have another month until my appointment. After taking care of my mother with Alzheimers, she was sent to a facility and I was on the street. After a visit for a lung study I signed up for, I was given Advair and O2 at 2 during exertion, and tanks that only last 2 hours. After years of unemployment, I was finally offered a job behind the desk at a clothing store. I pace myself, and don’t have a lot of activity. It’s mostly selling gift cards and signing up people for credit cards. I’m rarely short of breath. I NEED this job to afford basic necessities like medicine. Does anyone have any experiences they can relate regarding working with oxygen? Don’t know that I’ll need it just to work behind the desk.

    • Hi and thank you for your question. I’m thrilled that you can work and do it at your own pace. I personally do not have any experience working while using oxygen. I did use oxygen at night only when I was younger (before I was 21 years old) and was able to work, though it was hard for me at times. I hope that someone who reads my blog can help you. If you’d like to post your questions on my Facebook page: Living On O2 for Life perhaps someone may be able to answer your questions. I can do a post about working while using oxygen and see if anyone has any experience in doing so. Maybe this could help you. It may not be an immediate response though. I just wrote myself a note to look in to writing about it as a post. I hope this helps. *hugs* Stay strong and be well. –Christine

Thank you for posting a comment. All comments will be reviewed for spam before being posted on this blog. It's only to prevent a spam overload. Thank you! .... Christine

