My Friday Appointments at the Hospital..

wristbands

Living On Oxygen for Life

Last Friday was a very long day. I was hoping to be able to breeze through my appointments and return home with an ice cream cone as a reward for being such a good and compliant patient. But, apparently, the doctor had something wicked up her sleeve. I told the doctor that I was getting more headaches that went away after I rested with my bipap on for a while. Wait.. wait… I’m getting ahead of myself. Let me think… oh yes! The day started out pretty good. In fact, even though I didn’t sleep a wink ALL NIGHT LONG because my brain wouldn’t shut down for the night, I was able to get myself dressed with clothes and makeup. I even curled my hair! Whoa! So this kind of thing happens when I don’t get any sleep?!?!? Not normally. It was freaking me out too. So, I skipped the morning diuretic but took my heart medicine and my Symbicort and was ready to leave at precisely 7:30am. I grabbed the last of my chocolate oatmeal cookies and I was out the door. I know, breakfast of champions!

Well, the Friday morning traffic was INCREDIBLY lighter than what we were expecting. So, K stopped through McDonald’s drive through just to feed me. I was a little worried because I hadn’t slept well (ok, I might have gotten a wink.. maybe two winks of sleep). You see.. eating makes me sleepy and sluggish. That’s why I was a little worried. I didn’t want to get more tired but I said, “What the heck! Let’s do this up big!” So, I ate a delicious Egg McMuffin and a hash brown. I ate it on the go.

We arrived at the hospital a whole hour earlier than we had intended. Oops! But this is Friday. What happened to the traffic of rush hour? It kind of boggled our minds too. Anyway, we slide right into getting my CT Scan. That took a whole 3 minutes. In fact, K barely had time to get comfortable with his earbuds to watch movie trailers before I was back out in the waiting area telling him that I’m finished. He almost looked disappointed that he didn’t get a chance to watch anything on his phone. Silly man. But, we were on the move in my handy dandy wheel chair; making a bee line for the elevator. There was another person getting into the elevator who was in a wheelchair and K seriously thought about fitting us in there with them. It just wasn’t gonna work. We waited for the next elevator. We are risky people but not that risky! Besides, I don’t like being in overly crowded elevators. There is a weight limit on those things.

We go up several floors and I check into the doctors receptionist and state that I’m a wee bit early. She looked down at the time my appointment was scheduled and then at the clock and gave me a stunned look. I asked her if we were going to have to wait or can they get us in early. Guess what?? We’re in like a Schwinn! (<– that's a bicycle!) It was great all the way up to the point where the doctor said that I needed to get an ABG. That would be an Arterial Blood Gas. She saw my deer in headlights look and said that I didn't have to get it today if I didn’t want but K spoke up and told her that it was no problem. I bet you can just imagine what was going through my head at that moment. Right? So, I asked the doctor if I still needed to do the 6-minute walk. (you know that I try to talk my way out of it a lot!) But K spoke up again and said that we should just get it all over with today. *GASP!* Well, God bless that man. I tell you what.

K always does the 6-minute walk with me. He lugs the hospital’s tank of oxygen around with us as I walk up and down the hallway outside the doctor’s office. I didn’t do so bad. I was just a little slower than I normally do because I was tired from only getting two winks of sleep. After the 6-minute walk I went back downstairs to the lab department for them to call for a Respiratory Lab person to draw the ABG. I have to admit. The guy was pretty good. He only mildly grazed a nerve at my inner elbow. My arterial pulse is stronger there. Frankly, it’s a lot better getting them there than at my wrist. A LOT better!

Well, we are finally done and back on the highway heading towards home when K asks me if Jack Ryan is playing at the mall theater. I perk right up and get all excited! This is IT! My reward! Woohooo! I love movies and it’s even better when K takes me to a movie so we both can enjoy it. But wait… that’s not all! After the movie was out, he wanted to take me into the mall. I’m pretty stubborn about walking in the mall. To tell you the truth, I hate malls. Because I have to walk a lot. Which makes me tired fast. But I went walking in the mall (a little grumpy at first because by then I was starting to fade fast). We came up to the store K was looking for and he said he wanted to get a ball cap. I’m like.. ok.. So, I’m looking for ball caps when K walks me up to the service clerk man. K says to him… “I’m looking for a Peyton Manning Broncos jersey in her size.” SHE SCORES!!!!!!!!!! haha! YIPPEE! They had one small left and by golly… It’s all mine!!! Isn’t he great y’all? On this day, I take a vow to try hard not to complain about the mall again! *wink* So, are you ready for some football tomorrow?

Don’t for get to FOLLOW my blog! Tomorrow I will post my ABG results. I had the ABG draw done while using 5 liters/min of oxygen.

4 thoughts on “My Friday Appointments at the Hospital..

  1. Don’t you just HATE ABG’s? I never knew they could do it from the elbow. MY docs always take it from the wrist when I am an in-patient, but if I am well, they do an earlobe-slash (not as bad as it sounds and WAY better than a wrist job)

    Keep well!

    • Absolutely.. Without a doubt… I hate and dread them. 😉 I’ve never heard of the earlobe slash. Sounds interesting. Try asking for the elbow next time! I have to do my best to keep calm before and during an ABG so that artery isn’t any harder to get to. I did really good this time! Tomorrow I have to get my monthly liver lab work done. Fun!

Thank you for posting a comment. All comments will be reviewed for spam before being posted on this blog. It's only to prevent a spam overload. Thank you! .... Christine

