We all need a “Me-Day” occasionally…

Living On Oxygen for Life

Mondays aren’t always full of madness nor do they feel like a train wreck waiting to happen. My Monday, this week, is filled with things that “I” want to do for me. You know… I’m having a “Me-Day.” Sounds like fun, right? I try to have a Me-Day once in a while. It’s something that helps me keep the worry and anxiety from life.

What do I do on my Me-Day, you ask? Today, I’m relaxing (sort of) while I watch Ripley (aka: Sigourney Weaver) kick some Alien butt. You go girl! I crocheted some today and I’m even thinking about making cookies too! But really, I thought I’d catch you up on what’s going on in my life lately. I know that not everyone uses Facebook (gasp!) and that’s where I sometimes post some of my daily goofy life stuff. Though, if you look in the right column of this blog, you can read those Facebook posts.

Lately, I’ve been getting my Summer project ready. You may know that last Summer’s project was for me to successfully keep my new dwarf lemon and dwarf lime trees alive. I’d like to announce that I have achieved this goal, shocking both K and myself. I even got 3 limes from one tree and currently I’m praying hard for the one lemon that’s growing to hang on!

This Summer, to keep me active, I’ve expanded my dwarf orchard (that’s what I’m calling it now!) by two more dwarf trees. I’m so excited to get them planted in half-barrel pots. One is a 5-in-1 dwarf apple tree and the other is a dwarf peach tree. I’m also planting a Raspberry bush and I started some tomato and cilantro seeds.

Maybe it may seem like too much for me to do but I explained to K that it’s what will make me happy and keep me from becoming sedentary. Being on oxygen and having shortness of breath (SOB) symptoms often, it’s very, very important for us oxygen users to stay active. So finding things that I can physically do while being safe at doing them can help maintain my level of health.

Pretty soon, since I live in Texas, I will have to start getting my body use to the Texas heat by starting with going out in the heat everyday for about five minutes. Texas is already starting to warm up into 80s. So slowly I will I increase the time outside before Summer rolls around which seems like mid April here.

Don’t forget to follow my blog so you won’t miss a post! You have 5 days left to enter the March Need A Hug Giveaway. Email me your info to enter. If you use oxygen and/or use a Bipap/CPap machine, then this giveaway is for you! Have a wonderful day. Give yourself a Me-Day!!! Love to you all!

4 thoughts on “We all need a “Me-Day” occasionally…

  1. I have the occasional ‘me’ evening with my girlfriends. We drink a little (wink) cider and sing into our hairbrushes as though we were 14 again! It’s all very silly, but it exercises my lungs and we have a million giggles.
    I agree that we need to keep as active as our bodies will allow. I’ve also tried to stop being so sedentary, by pushing my w/chair twice weekly, along our 30 mtr path from front to back door. It is mainly flat but has a short steep ramp halfway along, which gets me puffing! Yesterday I managed the 3/4 km mark (almost half a mile). Yay! So, keep up the gardening, Chris, and let us know how yummy that first raspberry tastes. The first one is always the best…

    • You go girl! You are so sweet! I worry that the heat will be too much for the raspberry bush but I’m still going to try growing it. It’s a new breed that’s fall-bearing instead of the twice a year bearing bushes. I read that if I trim them back in June and then again in August, the berries won’t grow until Fall. If I don’t do that, they will produce during the summer when it’s too hot for them. We don’t want shriveled berries! Am I right? lol! My sisters and I use to sing like that to the Jackson 5 (Michael Jackson & family) way back when.. πŸ˜‰

Thank you for posting a comment. All comments will be reviewed for spam before being posted on this blog. It's only to prevent a spam overload. Thank you! .... Christine

