Making an average day more exciting…

Living On Oxygen for Life

Life has been pretty interesting lately. The other day I went in to get a cervical CT Scan and noticed a sign that stated it was “Patient Appreciation Day.” Not sure what all that was about but since I’ve never been to this place, it sounded like they employed nice people. I arrived 30 minutes early partly because I wasn’t sure if I knew how to get there and didn’t want to arrive late and the other reason was because there is ALWAYS something to fill out or sign. I did find the building, only having to turn around once which is pretty awesome for me! I waited patiently to check in for my appointment while the reception lady was talking on the phone to whom I was assuming a patient. Ok she’s off the phone and yes, there was a form to fill out. But she said not to worry because it’s only one page. I’m like… YEA!!! Seriously, I said YEA!!! to her. She laughed. Of course, once I sat down and read some of the questions I was… like crap this is going to take a while.

  • Have you had any surgeries? If so, list them…
  • What medication do you take?
  • For many of the questions, I ran out of room on the page. I had to do the “turning the page sideways” to keep writing. Sometimes, I come to appointments to new places with a printout of all this information just to save myself time. When they called my name, they said for me to go into the room to the right. I have a really goofy personality. So I said to the guy, “OOoooh you have a whole room just for me!” Hey, it’s Patient Appreciation Day. I can get away with saying that. lol! It made the two people who heard me smile. Job done! Anyway, I get myself laid down on this really hard table… but hey, I got to keep my clothes on. I just had to take off my jacket because it had a zipper. So, all was cool for me until the tech guy said to close my eyes because eye movement can blur the images. Now, I don’t know if you realize that I’m a curious person. It was really hard keeping my eyes closed and not moving when all I wanted to do is look at everything in the room. Then I had saliva that I felt an overwhelming need to swallow right NOW but I couldn’t move. Why is it that when you aren’t suppose to do something, you really want to do it?

    After I got my CT Scan done, I went to get my monthly lab work done since I take Tracleer. Every month since 2006, I’ve been getting my blood drawn from the same location on the same arm. But first the lab personnel and I had to figure out which order I was suppose to get done. The doctor had sent lab orders every 2 weeks for some reason. Let me just say that the doctor’s computer system has some sort of demon in it and it’s causing all sorts of problems. I asked them to do the CMP and the CBC and we’ll call it a day. The tech stabs me and says, “Wow, you have some scar tissue.” Well, of course I do. The needle has stabbed me there 12 times a year for 8 years. That’s 96 stabbings! Of course, that’s only counting the last 8 years. My poor arm! I think they are going to have to find a new drilling site for blood next time.

    I finally made an appointment to see my Cardiologist to have him monitor my dilated ascending aorta. I’m a little nervous about it. I had to fill out a 9 page information packet for this appointment since it has been so long since I’ve seen him last time. My bad! hehehe!

    Since it is April 1st, the HOPE (PH Awareness) necklace giveaway has started. You do not have to have PH to enter this giveaway. It is open to everyone, everywhere. If you want in on this giveaway, you must email me at goredrider@gmail.com . Click on the HOPE menu link up at the top of my blog to learn more. FOLLOW my blog please. I don’t want you to miss any of my fascinating adventures! Be well!

    Thank you for posting a comment. All comments will be reviewed for spam before being posted on this blog. It's only to prevent a spam overload. Thank you! .... Christine

    