Little successes…

Living On Oxygen for Life

In February or so, my older sister came to visit us. She brought with her an order form for her daughter’s fundraiser project and being the awesome aunt that I am, I ordered a few things. haha! One of the things I bought is a hanging strawberry planter and today I finally opened the package and planted the little strawberry plants. It was a little more difficult for me to do than I thought it would be. I had to get my portable oxygen on and walk out to the barn (which is really a small shed). I didn’t have enough dirt…errr planting soil in the garage from my last gardening adventure. So, out I went with everything I needed in my hands. I had my oxygen and strawberry planter (careful not to spill what dirt I had already put in the bag) in my hands approaching the barn.

Going in the barn isn’t something that I usually do because my 50ft tubing is only long enough to get the barn doors stretching from my tanks inside to the barn. I don’t have enough slack to actually go inside the barn which is ok with me because I normally don’t do any of the yard work. But, today, I needed in that barn for dirt. With my portable oxygen tank on, I carefully set everything down on the ground because the first time I attempted to open the door, it was stuck. (Yes, we need to replace the barn… It’s so old!) I’m tugging and tugging and lifting and tugging when suddenly the stupid door opens. I was so happy that I got the door open that I walked right into the barn forgetting one important thing. My portable. I walked off forgetting the oxygen (common thing for me) and it tipped over. Ugh! I picked it up and brought it in the barn and set it down on the floor AGAIN. I lifted the dirt and the darn thing is so heavy! Not only did I have to lift and carry it out of the barn, I had to carry my oxygen out of the barn too. I also needed a little scoop thingy. Where are you now McGyver???

I hitched my tank strap on my shoulder and hefted the bag of dirt out of the barn. Then I returned for the scoop after I set the tank somewhere halfway between my work area outside the barn and inside the barn. Now, I’m good to go. I shoveled in little scoops of dirt and I’m on my way to growing strawberries! The bag is filled and I successfully got everything put away, struggling to get that stupid barn door closed. I got the little strawberry plants inside and it’s time to switch back over to my inside oxygen supply. I turned on the 2 liquid oxygen tanks and put away my portable and then walked off towards the kitchen, forgetting that I didn’t even put my oxygen back on. What am I doing!!! Don’t worry… I put my oxygen right on. I have a lot on my mind and I’m really forgetful. I planted the strawberry plants in the little holes provided in the bag-type planter then I took them outside to water them. That part was tricky because it had to be laid flat (for a few days until the strawberries take root according to the directions). Yes, I’m a direction reader… K is not. haha! I’m finally done with my project for the day and I’m really excited because I accomplished something that I thought I would need K’s help with. Three cheers for me!

Being on oxygen makes doing some things a little harder but I try to find other ways (maybe a little stranger ways) to do them so that I can feel good inside… You know… Happy! I don’t know if I’m doing any of this strawberry stuff right but at least it got me out of bed, off the couch and out the door. That’s what matters… being active doing things that make you happy. For the rest of the day I plan to work on my crochet project that I’m doing for a friend and then I have to vacuum the family room because we are having company later today. I’m sure I’ll find other things to do today around the house. The crocheting helps me wind down and rest enough to battle to vacuum cleaner.

I hope everyone is doing well.

Shout out to Michelle: I’m SOOOOO glad that you are doing better now and are out of the hospital. *HUGS*

strawberries

4 thoughts on “Little successes…

  1. Christine…
    I am sure you will have the most tasty strawberries. They do look very healthy at this point.
    Especially after all your hard work!

  2. I can totally relate to your story! Lugging around portable O2 makes even the easiest tasks a challenge. I don’t think most people understand what an effort it can be. It sure beats being homebound, though!

    • You’re so right. I don’t think people realize just how heavy some of the tanks can be until I let them hold it. šŸ™‚ I’m all for getting out of the house and if it means carrying my oxygen with me, well, so be it. šŸ˜‰

Thank you for posting a comment. All comments will be reviewed for spam before being posted on this blog. It's only to prevent a spam overload. Thank you! .... Christine

