What do you mean 24/7?

Living On Oxygen for Life

I’m trying to think back to how long I’ve used oxygen 24/7. That’s 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. It’s been many, many years. Let me think…It was definitely after I got married. Though I was still on oxygen. I started when I was 17 years old. But, I started using oxygen 24/7 in probably 1993. Ok Wow! That’s 21 years. Yep, I just did the math. It’s amazing, right? This shows us that we really can live a long time even though we need supplemental oxygen. I keep looking at that 21 years and it’s making me smile. All the fun, goofy things I’ve done and all the adventures I’ve been on over these past 21 years have been so crazy fun.

When I say that I use oxygen 24/7, I mean that I’m always using oxygen whether it’s to water my plants outside or taking a shower. I get in a swimming pool, put make up on, clean the house, and basically everything else a person has to do to live and have fun. I don’t worry about being in water with my oxygen on. Water won’t get into the tube. If I’m using my portable and I’m at the beach, I put my portable oxygen tank in a plastic bag. My husband digs a hole in the sand and drops the portable that’s in the bag into the hole and then covers it with a towel. I use a 25 to 50 foot tubing attached to my portable tank and then I wade out into the water! It’s so fun but I have to be really careful to make sure no one else who’s on the beach trips over my tubing. We usually pick a spot on the beach where no one else is around or go to the beach early in the morning or late in the evening. If there are a lot of people on the beach, K will hold my portable, take my hand and walk me out into the ocean so that I can get in the water. I do NOT swim. I’m totally scared of water. I drowned once when I was about 2 years old and I think that has A LOT to do with why I have a massive phobia about water. It’s really inconvenient because I think swimming looks really relaxing. Though, I will float in a blown up tube!

I do take my oxygen off when people are taking my picture but not always. I’m not able to stay off my oxygen for more than a few minutes without really suffering from my oxygen desaturating.

I’ve been so busy lately. K and I are having a few things done on our house and it’s taken up so much of my time that I’ve not been able to blog lately. Hopefully with most of the house projects finished, I will be back in action again on my blog. I do apologize. I have been on Facebook, email, and Instagram because I can write from my phone and iPad. So, I’m still here!

My newest “Need a Hug” giveaway is posted! The deadline to enter for the afghan is June 30th, 2014 at midnight. I hope you will enter! Lots of love to you all!

I want to share this song with you… my friends!

2 thoughts on “What do you mean 24/7?

    • Thank you Susan!! Thank you for reading my blog! This song is one of my favorites. I think everyone should have a friend such as the one is this song. That would be so dreamy awesome! *hugs*

Thank you for posting a comment. All comments will be reviewed for spam before being posted on this blog. It's only to prevent a spam overload. Thank you! .... Christine

