More about bipap machines and sleep studies..

Living On Oxygen for Life

There are different reasons for needing to use a bipap machine. By now, if you have this machine, you know that a bipap is really different than a CPap machine. A CPap machine provides a constant, continuous positive pressure of air through your mask. It’s main use is for what is called Sleep Apnea. Sleep apnea can cause snoring. The continuous positive pressure of air the flows through the hose, tube and into your lungs keeps a your lungs open while you sleep. From experience during a sleep study, I could not tolerate a CPap but many people do well with them.

For this reason my doctor tested me on a Bipap. The pressure from the CPap was too much for me lungs. Bipaps and CPaps can be difficult to used to. I’m not going to lie to you. I had to change the way I breathed when I attempted to fall asleep. At first, I would have panic attacks because I would be so tired from trying to get myself adjusted to the machine that I couldn’t fall asleep. I ended up having my doctor put me on Xanax. It helped. Word to the wise, Xanax is only to be used temporarily. After some time, I found what worked for me. I started by staying up late to the point where I was really sleepy. Then I tried reading in bed until I became sleepy. Reading really helped because it distracted me from keeping my breathing synchronized with the Bipap’s pre-set of “breathing.”

Bipap’s are meant to function to continually breathe for you if in fact you stop breathing. That’s one of the main functions of a bipap. Think of a fail-safe or a backup to your own breathing.

Bipap

This machine is considered a Durable Medical Equipment and you must have a Sleep Study ordered by your pulmonologist to qualify to receive one and for your insurance to pay for or rent one for you. A sleep study is an outpatient procedure where you sleep in either a clinic or a hospital sleep department. The techs will attach electrodes and wires and the mask attached to the Bipap or Cpap. You also get a nifty wire that reads your CO2 and another thing called a pulse oximeter taped on your finger. Oh! They expect you to be able to sleep with all these electrodes wired to your head. Does anyone ever sleep during one of these?? haha!

You may not start off wearing the Bipap or oxygen for the test. Try not to panic. They need a base-line of your breathing ability, oxygen saturation and other important data. Don’t try to change the tech’s mind about what you want because they are following the doctor’s orders. They will also attach a nifty wire that reads your CO2 and another thing called a pulse oximeter taped on your finger. Oh! They expect you to be able to sleep with all these electrodes wired to your head. Does anyone ever sleep during one of these?? haha! It will be a few days if not more before you hear the results. There is a lot a data to read from the sleep study.

Be well and take care of yourselves. *hugs*

2 thoughts on “More about bipap machines and sleep studies..

  1. Did you have trouble adjusting from the cpap to the bipap. My mom has had the bipap for two nights and today she could barely stay awake all day

    • I never used the C-pap outside of a sleep study because I just could not handle it. I went home with a bipap. I do want to mention that with each machine, I’ve felt that they all require an adjustment time to getting use to them. Bipap machines are a bit different than C-pap machines. Just have your mom relax and maybe read a bit in bed before sleeping. It usually takes me about a month to get use to a new Bipap machine. If she still has trouble after a couple of weeks, then give the doctor a call and tell him what’s going on. Maybe they can adjust the Rise or Ramp settings in the bipap.

Thank you for posting a comment. All comments will be reviewed for spam before being posted on this blog. It's only to prevent a spam overload. Thank you! .... Christine

