Random Picture Day # 11

Living On Oxygen for Life

Almost every year K takes me on a vacation for my birthday and our anniversary. It’s really a big thing with us. We generally pick somewhere that has a beach. It’s just so relaxing and I love watching K playing in the ocean or the gulf even though it scares me half to death because he wanders out so far. Hey! There’s sharks out there!

In this picture, K devised a way for me to not get too much sun. I get sun poisoning pretty badly because of my heart medicine. I love sitting under the umbrella watching K play and then when I’m ready, filled with energy, I wade out into the water. I have my portable oxygen tank in a plastic bag, attached to the chair. Sometimes, K will dig a hole in the sand and drop the tank that’s in the bag in the hole. He’s my personal MacGyver! I use my 50ft oxygen tubing so that I can reach from my chair out to the water. All I have to do is watch out for other people on the beach if it’s crowded. Another idea I’ve thought of doing with the tubing but haven’t tried it yet is to cover the tubing with sand. Then people can walk on it. K tries to take me out in the early morning or late evening when the temperature isn’t too hot. I last longer at those times.

Do what you can to experience life. This year we aren’t going on vacation because we focused on some home rehab. But there is always next year, right?? =o)

How to play on the beach with oxygen.

How to play on the beach with oxygen.

10 thoughts on “Random Picture Day # 11

    • Hi Dianne,
      I don’t see why not as long as you keep them out of the sun and water. Throw a towel over the tank and place it in a shaded place such as under a beach chair out of the way of other beach goers.. 😉
      Don’t let your oxygen tank keep you from going to the beach and having fun. *hugs*

      Christine

  1. I just cane home on O2 after 3 weeks in the hospital for pneumonia due Cystic Fibrosis. I do not know at this time if I will be on it i definitely, but I haven’t been able to wean OFF completely yet. I have a pool and love the brach and those are my happy places (I live in CT).

    I am reading your blog with great hope.

    • Hi Therapink… if the doctors are telling you that you can be weaned off of oxygen be prepared to be patient. It’s a bit of a slow process to have your body getting used to room air. However, please don’t do that without doctor’s consent. Do you have a pulse oximeter? You can pick one up at any Walmart or pharmacy. It will help you keep to know what your oxygen saturation is. BTW.. what is a “beach” you mentioned? Email me any time if you have questions. Though I don’t have great knowledge of cystic fibrosis but I know what it is. ❤ *hugs*

  2. So I just became an oxygen patient on 24 March. I am going to the beach on Friday with my boyfriend and I’m wondering how to carry my tank in the ocean. I use the small B tanks that are about the size of a large wine bottle. I have a carry bag for it. I love going in deep water and playing in the waves. I don’t think that walking in shallow water will be a problem.

    • Hi Paula, I can’t recommend submerging those tanks in the ocean. All I’ve ever done was put my liquid oxygen portable in a plastic bag and my husband dug a hole in the sand on the beach to set my portable in it and cover it with a towel. I would use my 50 foot tubing to wade out into the water. I do not know how to swim. I have a fear of water from when I drowned as a toddler. You should call your oxygen provider to ask them about your tank getting wet in the ocean to see what they recommend. I’m sorry I couldn’t help more. I’m careful to keep mine on dry ground.

Thank you for posting a comment. All comments will be reviewed for spam before being posted on this blog. It's only to prevent a spam overload. Thank you! .... Christine

