Reality…

Living On Oxygen for Life

I’m not invincible. Though, I like to think I am… *grin* I have weaknesses and I cry. I have bad days that make me feel like I’m dying and I struggle to find the one thing that will show me the goodness of life. A lot of the times it is the memories of fun things I’ve done with my sisters, family or with K. Other times, it is the comments or emails that I receive through this blog or my Facebook page. I take a lot of pictures and turn them into photo books for this reason too.

While in the hospital, earlier this month, my younger sister called me. She was surprised that I was laughing and cheerful and she asked me how I could be that way. I told her that it’s better to laugh about it than to cry. She asked me if I was scared and I said laughing, “Heck yeah I’m scared.”

Even though I have all these medical problems that make me feel bad (a lot!), I don’t want to leave with them a memory of me crying. I’d rather have them think of me as a happy person. Does that make sense to y’all? That doesn’t mean that I never break down and cry. There is only so much stress, bad news, pain, and struggling to breathe I can handle.

It’s ok to cry. It doesn’t mean that you feel sorry for yourself as long as you don’t wallow in it. To me, it’s like a reset button or a relief valve on the mounting stress. So, am I always the happy-go-lucky gal you see? No, because life is hard and filled with challenges. Filled with tests of strength. I’m up for the challenge. It’s just sometimes it gets to be too much.

This month has been exceptionally challenging. Thank you all for being there for me. *hugs*

5 thoughts on “Reality…

  1. Christine, It is indeed better to laugh than to cry! I was cruising along nicely until I got hit with a severe UTI last Saturday. I had a 102.4 fever and was terribly ill. The fever and illness triggered my Turets Syndrome ticks, which made me even feel worse. I finally got to the doctor today and he gave me antibiotics. He also told me that if I have another fever past 101.5 that I am to go to the emergency room. Life is full if little suprises; you need to laugh them off, otherwise you’ll go bonkers:) Hugs to you my dear friend! Enjoy your holiday weekend. Say hello to K for me!

    Thank you, Gerry

    >

    • Gerry – have you heard of D-Mannose Powder? It’s a glucose type powder you can take in your coffee or capsule form. It washes away bacteria in your bladder that cause UTI’s. Google it – it made me your god’s send. I get mine from Swanson’s.

  2. I am a positive person most of the time. But like everybody with a serious illness or chronic disease that has to be continuously monitored (like my diabetes) it gets tiring & overwhelming some times. It is sometimes the little things that get you down. Just take good care of yourself and get your joy where & when you can. Sending {{{{{hugs}}}}}.

    • Thank you so much for the hugs. You are right that it’s even the little things that can get you down especially when all the little things stack up and then just one more happens and it overflows the capacity that you can handle. It’s really good to have someone to talk to when you need to vent or feeling sad. I hope you continue to be a positive person and find the joy in everything. *hugs*

Thank you for posting a comment. All comments will be reviewed for spam before being posted on this blog. It's only to prevent a spam overload. Thank you! .... Christine

