And so it begins…

Living On Oxygen for Life

That’s right… the sick season begins. I sure hope everyone has got their flu shot, pneumonia shot and now the pharmacy is even offering the Shingles shot. What the heck??? What if you have never even had Chickenpox yet? I’ve never had chickenpox. My two sisters have. I guess I was lucky that way. I still remember my mother telling not to go in my sisters’ room because they were sick. I was soooo bored!

Last weekend, K and I took his mom and his aunt to the airport. His aunt was coughing in my van and I was really nervous about what she could have. Do you ever get that way around someone who is coughing? With breathing problems, I react to people who seem sick by becoming instantly alert and analyzing the symptoms of someone who might be coughing. I even hold my breath if they cough around me and then I make a run for it! Seriously! I am out the door! See ya because I don’t want to be sick too.

Unfortunately, I was stuck in the van with all of us and I was secretly praying the whole time that she only had allergy problems. *please, please, please!* Hey, they do have allergy issues in the family. The problem that I have now is that K texted me from work stating that he is sick. UGH! Double crap!

I have not had my flu shot yet.. I plan to get it next week when I go in for my annual physical. K has not had his flu shot yet either. At least I feel fine and I plan to keep feeling well. I ran to the pharmacy to pick up what my pharmacist recommended for K to take. She said Zyrtec-D. So I picked up some of that in the generic form which is outrageously expensive for over-the-counter medicine and then I also got some other stuff as a back up. Every now and then K and I have strange reactions… as in when we sleep or get jittery during the day… when we take certain sinus medications. It’s good to have a few choices. I don’t want him wigged out at work. haha! That would not be good!

Take care of yourself. Be proactive. You know what the saying of “An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure.” by Benjamin Franklin means, right?

I love hearing from you! I am wondering if you have any questions about me that you would like answered here on this blog. Are you curious about “Who is Christine?” If you’d like to ask a question to be answered by me and about me, email your question to goredrider@gmail.com and make the subject line: ASK CHRISTINE! If I get enough questions, I will answer them on my blog. Please keep all questions clean. Lots of love to you and stay well.

6 thoughts on “And so it begins…

  1. Christine – I take Echinacea (3 caps day) when I feel my immune system needs bolstering – it is very safe and doesn’t interfer with any known drugs. I learned about it working for seminars given to pharmacists, nurses, etc for their CE credits by the speaker a Lady with her Doctorate in Nursing – You can read about it. I ‘ve been taking it probably for 15 years – the Amerian Indians used to use it – I wouldn’t suggest it if you are allergic to flowers. I also go to the health food store and get the good zinc lozenges that are like a “dry” tablet you let slowly dissolve in your mouth -(this kind doesn’t mess up your taste buds like the ones in the grocery/drug store) I buy Carlson Zinc-Ease – they are a little expensive but soo worth it – I use several a day if I’m feeling under the weather or have been exposed. Both my daughter and hubby have had a nasty cold with greenies and I don’t have it so I know my method works most of the time. I just got my flu shot today. Hope everyone has a safe winter – just wanted to share what works for me.

    • Ricardo, I’m feeling so much better on half dose of Tracleer. I’ve been at this dose for nearly 2 months. Compared to Opsumit, my shortness of breath has improved… not completely but at least it’s not causing me to gasp like I’m going to collapse from doing a simple task. Labs were drawn last Monday and I’ll get the results next Monday. Stay tuned! Thanks for your comment! *hugs*

  2. I never had the chicken pocks either! Got my flu and pneumonia shots last Friday, though. They sure do ache for a couple of days but that is so much better than the alternative!

    • Hi Bonnie,

      We must have built up immunity against the chicken pox somehow. I’m so happy that you haven’t had it but I heard if you get it as an adult, it’s much worse than if you got it as a kid. Stay vigilant on protecting you from catching it. 🙂 Errgg! I need to check to see when the last time I’ve received the Pnuemonia shot.

Thank you for posting a comment. All comments will be reviewed for spam before being posted on this blog. It's only to prevent a spam overload. Thank you! .... Christine

