Health Update..

Living on Oxygen for Life

Hello! I hope you read my last blog post and realized this is my health update. What’s crazy is that it seems like it’s been so long since I blogged last. What’s wrong with me??? My motivation has tanked badly but never fear. I am STILL here! I post on Facebook and Instagram. So, you can get a glimpse of my life that way. In fact, if you don’t have Facebook or Instagram, you can come to my blog and on the lower right side column you can see what I post in those two apps. I try to make it accommodating for those who do not wish to have FB or Instagram. I don’t want you to feel excluded. I love you all! haha! *hugs*

Ok Ok! I’ll get started already on my health update. Where should I begin? You probably already know that since August of this year, I have magically become Hyperthyroid. Don’t ask me how, because no one… I mean NO ONE knows for sure. One doctor says it’s from my heart medicine, the others think it could be hereditary through my father’s side. If it was caused by my heart medicine (Cordarone), I should be Hypothyroid which I am not. Before taking Opsumit, my TSH was teetering on the “Hypo” side and WHAM-O I’m Hyperthyroid. Confused yet? Yeah, join the club. *sigh*

So, for the last few months, I’ve been taking thyroid medicine. Cause you know that I love having to take just ONE MORE PILL! Oh wait, I take 3 of those pills a day. Ok Ok… 3 MORE PILLS a day! I had my annual physical last month and was thinking, hey the doctor can get all my thyroid blood tests done and all the other labs done all in one stick. Unfortunately, he only ordered the TSH and not the T3 and T4 labs. That’s what I get for assuming and not double checking with the doctor. I had to rush over to the lab again to get restabbed. Always a joy! *wink*

Needless to say, it took a crazy long time to get the lab results back for my thyroid. The T3 and T4 are finally within normal range. Hallelujah!! However, the TSH is still pretty low at .02. The Endocrinologist said it will take time to get my TSH back to where it belongs but she is hopeful that I will not have to be on a steroid medication. I am avoiding that. I don’t do well on oral steroids. It makes me swell up and retain water. I only do well on IV steroids. So, my doctor was REALLY hoping that my thyroid would respond to Methimazole (Tapazole) and because it’s responding, I’m to continue with the medication. Labs every two months and an appointment back with her in 4 months. She reminded me to call the pulmanologist if I have a fever and start feeling like I’m coming down with something (sore throat) so that I can have my white blood cells checked. Methimazole can affect the White Blood Count and leave you vulnerable to infections. Hooray!! This was especially nice to hear after the fact that I had a terribly sore throat last week. Since I’m always on top of these things, you can bet my phone was dialing my primary doctor before I even could say, “I better call my doctor for antibiotics!”

Now, you are probably wondering if this is overuse of antibiotics. For me? No way. I rarely have need of them because I’m very careful about my health and being around others who may be sick. In fact, I think I’ve only needed antibiotic about once a year and that’s precautionary. My lung volume is so low that I can’t wait long to see if I will recover from a sore throat. Why risk it? In the past, I’ve gone from sore throat to pneumonia overnight. Ask my mom, she’ll tell you. So not fun.

Now that I’ve been off Opsumit for two months, my breathing is no longer so labored when I do chores. That’s not to say that I don’t have shortness of breath while I vacuum a room. That’s a given but at least I’m not bent over gasping for air either. Thank you Jesus! I am definitely happier for that bit of mercy. I think some of this happiness comes from the oasis my husband had built for me. Our back patio is now where I can come outside and sit down to enjoy some outdoor peace. I will have to show you some pictures of it on my next Random Picture Day which will be soon.

Be well everyone! Take care of yourself. I hope you have a great Halloween! You can always reach me through my email at: goredrider@gmail.com

4 thoughts on “Health Update..

  1. Christine, Hank in there! My motivation drops every now and then as well. Although I don’t need my O2 on a continual basis, I still feel that it’s an umbilical of some type. Besides that and my BiPap machine every night with O2, I get down in the dumps every so often. But, I calm down and realize that it’s just what life has dealt me and that I can overcome anything! I am so very glad that you have your little oasis in the backyard now. Please post some pics when you can!

    Huggs๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐Ÿ˜

    Thank you, Gerry

    >

    • Currently, I am only on Tracleer. My PH is secondary due to Restrictive Lung Disease (from my Scoliosis & heart problems) instead of Primary. I will say that within 2 1/2 months of being on Opsumit, I was admitted to the hospital thru the ER and I was found to be Hyperthyroid. Now, I have NO medical basis to prove this but I think it was caused by Opsumit. Now that I’m off Opsumit and back on Tracleer and on Thyroid medicine, my thyroid functions are slowly getting back to normal and I hope eventually I will be able to get off thyroid medicine altogether. If I had to do this all over again, I would want my doctor to monitor my TSH, T3 and T4 a lot more closely. This stuff may not affect the liver like Tracleer can, but since this medicine is so new, wouldn’t monthly labs be called for during the first 3 to 6 months? Remember, I’m not a doctor. So I could be all wrong. I just know that while taking Opsumit, I became extremely short of breath to the point of gasping while trying to do the simplest of chores like unloading the dishwasher. Email me at: goredrider@gmail.com if you have questions. *hugs* I hope your mom gets to feel better soon.

Thank you for posting a comment. All comments will be reviewed for spam before being posted on this blog. It's only to prevent a spam overload. Thank you! .... Christine

