The hustle and bustle of December…

Living On Oxygen for Life

Oh the hustle and bustle of December. Are you feeling it too? Feeling a little overwhelmed… stressed out.. so darn busy? My December started, of course, with my heart cath. Though, I’m relieved with the results from the cath, the after effects of the catheter that was inserted into my heart and partially into a lung, gave me two days of mild arrhythmias and made me feel a little tired. However, I bounced back to tackle Christmas. Hooray!

Fireplace

I really enjoy Christmas but I don’t have a whole lot of energy for decorating. K really stepped up this year. He wanted to make this Christmas really nice because last Christmas was such a sad one. His dad was very sick and then he ended up passing away. This year was totally different. Oh my gosh! He went all out! He wanted this Christmas to feel festive and happy. I have to tell you. He did a wonderful job. In fact, I was asked to hire him out to decorate other people’s houses. That’s so crazy! Above is a picture of our Mantle he decorated.

We didn’t have a White Christmas this year. In fact, it was 70 degrees the day after. So weird… I know!!! I got busy creating a stocking for Mary (my cat) and Rocco (my pup) this month. I think they turned out pretty well. I got no complaints from them. In fact, Santa had NO problem filling them with goodies this year. Here’s the picture of them:

Pet Stockings

December is the hardest month of the year for me.. well, for K and my relationship. It’s all a lot of STRESS and a little bit of loneliness because K has to work longer days. He needs me to take care of him instead of the other way around. Then there is the Christmas shopping, wrapping, decorating, baking… etc.. Not to mention the weather turns cold and dreary which makes us feel a little blah, blah, blah. So, what do I do? First and foremost, I take a chill pill (no pill actually taken!) and tell myself, “It will be ok.” Then I turn to K and say, “K, (yes, I actually call him K) let’s do this Christmas thing!” Naturally, we remember baby Jesus was born on Christmas. Mustn’t forget that!

Part of breaking through the stress building up is realizing that my freezer and crockpot is my best friend in the kitchen. If I’m making lasagna, I make enough to make an extra 8″x8″ pan of it to freeze for a time where I just don’t have energy to cook. You can do the same with Chili, Meatloaf, Enchiladas, etc.. I’m in love with my Crockpot and have my mother-in-law as my go-to person for recipe questions. She has the best Spare ribs crockpot recipe in the world. Yes, I will share it with you. Be patient, I’m still typing this blog post. I’ll get to it next. hehe! Where was I? To be able to throw food in a crockpot and forget about it for about 5 to 8 hours, is truly a luxury and an energy saver. So, when you’ve mastered freezing meals and crockpot cooking, you are going in the right direction.

Another thing is, if you are cooking a Christmas meal, order a cooked turkey or ham from your grocery store or from a store that does that kind of business. That way, it’s done, you don’t have to worry about cooking it. All you have to do is send someone out to pick it up. The very most you would have to do is warm it up in your oven. Have others bring dishes of food to go with the meat. Why do YOU have to do it all? You shouldn’t have to. You can even make cookie dough, freeze it, and then pull it out of the freezer when you have the energy to finish the job. I know for a fact that my older sister freezes her sugar cookie dough after she makes it because she just does NOT have the time to make & bake all those cookies in one day. And she’s a healthy person! By the way… I’m getting a whole batch of frosted sugar cookies from her for my Christmas gift this year! Oh yeah, they are SOOO worth it! Yippee!! Ok technically, I’m not getting them until next month when she comes to visit but it’s something I look forward to very much.

Since it’s the end of the year, you know what next month will bring. Yep, new health insurance deductibles to meet for 2015. Well, I do and it stinks. I’m not real excited about that but hey, it is what it is. However, I’m not going to worry about it because I’m thinking about eating the Sugar Cookies that my sister will bring. Oh and seeing my sister and her family too. That’s what I really mean! *wink*

I hope you have a great New Year’s Eve! I have a great project for next year. I’ll blog about it in a day or two. Love to you all!

6 thoughts on “The hustle and bustle of December…

  1. I used to work at a bakery and we froze all the cookie dough after we made it. Freezing it and then rolling it out helps it keep its shape otherwise it will be too warm into a buttery mess. So- it turns out you’re just a really good baker! πŸ˜‰

  2. Hi kid, hope you enjoyed the New Year beginning and hopefully this will be your best year ever!! Love Jim My best to ” K “

    • Hey Jim,

      My 2014 year kinda was not so good but I am so determined to get 2015 right. I’m also making it a priority to get my beeehind up there to see y’all very soon even if I have to go solo. You know that K has to work hard to keep me in the lap of luxury. =o) lol! His love spoils me something awful. =oP

      Love you!
      Chris

Thank you for posting a comment. All comments will be reviewed for spam before being posted on this blog. It's only to prevent a spam overload. Thank you! .... Christine

