We bring you a Medical Update…

Living On Oxygen for Life

IMG_3990 Oh the joys of hospital gowns. I never have been given a gown that actually fits. They’re sizes range from Large to Extra Large. Yeah, I asked. A lot of times I can just wrap the gown around my front, back and then to front again to tie it. However, the gown I got today was the kind that had short ties. So no wrap-around action for me and of course the opening had to be in front. What a fashion statement I made today!

Today’s appointment was with my cardiologist who I’ve seen for the past 20+ years. He’s AWESOME! He always asks me how I’m doing, what I’ve been up to, and if I’m still doing whatever it was that I was doing the last time I saw him which was a year ago. After all the pleasantries were out of the way, we started in with my questions. First I asked him what he has diagnosed my cardiac problems to be. His answer was, “Which one?” Haha! We laughed. Nothing with my health problems is ever easy or simple. In fact, my body is very complex. One organ’s problems affects another organ’s problems and etc.. It’s very frustrating because my body doesn’t want to do what doctors seem to think it should do. I think there’s a Murphy’s Law for that somewhere.

My Cardiologist told me that I have Supraventricular Arrythmias as well as Ventricular Arrythmias and when I first went to see him 20+ years ago, I had premature ventricular contractions really badly. Thus, the reason why I’m on Cordarone because it was the only medicine at the time that didn’t cripple my breathing ability. Now that we got that straightened out, I told him what the Cardiac Electrophysiologist (maybe I got that backwards) that my Cardiologist sent me to suggested Tikosyn for my heart problems. You see, I was looking for a replacement for Cordarone. Being on Cordarone is not a very safe thing for my body. It can lead to Thyroid problems as well as scarring of the lungs which is called Pulmonary Fibrosis. Tikosyn is used for both A-fib and my problems. However, after reading about Tikosyn, I felt the risks of taking Tikosyn for my actual cardiac problems were too high to make me comfortable to trying it. Beside, you have to stay in the hospital for 3 days to start Tikosyn. So, my Cardiologist and I are in agreement for me to stay on Cordarone, since I have yet to have any problems relating to Cordarone in 20 years.

Now wait a minute, you say. Don’t the PH doctors think this current thyroid problem that I currently have occurred because of Cordarone? Funny that you asked that because I brought this up with my Cardiologist. I explained what happened when I tried Opsumit for 3 months last year which ended with me being hospitalized for 3 days. I told him how I was diagnosed with Hyperthyroid and that the PH doctors were saying it was only because of me taking Cordarone. They wanted me off of it. I told my Cardiologist the status of my thyroid now that I’m slowly decreasing the thyroid medicine I’m taking. His thoughts are that it could’ve been Opsumit interacting with the Cordarone. It wasn’t technically Cordarone giving me thyroid problems, it could be that Opsumit in conjunction with Cordarone, triggered a thyroid problem in me. It actually makes sense to me!

According to the ECHO I did today, my heart looks good, pressures ok, blood flow is good. Then there is the not-so-good news. My aorta. For some mysterious reason, my aorta measured at 5.1cm. I don’t have high blood pressure. So who knows why this is occurring. Now I have to go get a CT Scan to more accurately measure my ascending aorta. My Cardiologist says that if it gets to 5.5cm, he will want me to go to the hospital where my PH doctors are so that I can get medical intervention. Sounds like some sort of surgery to me. *pout* He said that there are ways to not have to cut me open to put in a stint. I’m not sure if that’s makes me feel more reassured or not. Either way, it’s gonna hurt somehow. haha! I shouldn’t put the cart before the mule, so to speak. Why worry over it too much. I’ll wait to see what the CT Scan says first.

I’m just a little disgusted with not getting a clean bill of health with my heart today. It’s always hard for me when new things pop up unexpectedly with my health. It takes me a couple of days to accept the news and to begin to move forward again. I did show him a copy of my heart cath that I had last December. He thought it looked great! Hooray! Sometimes I feel like my PH doctors are all about doom and gloom. It’s nice to get a little optimism from my cardiologist!

I hope you enjoyed this Medical Update! *wink*

Stay in touch and be well. *HUGS*

4 thoughts on “We bring you a Medical Update…

  1. I agree with the doom and gloom comment. One of my cardiologists is amazing and I love his positive approach to things, but he always refers me back to the transplant unit. I have pulmonary hypertension and pulmonary fibrosis… Not fun. Most drugs contradict and what helps one organ harms the other. It’s a hit and miss situation and a lot of trial and errors need to take place to get it right… But at he patients expense.
    Thanks for the update and for mentioning medications that I can ask my lung and heart team about.
    As far as hospital gowns go… I think they should be redesigned and by a patient.

    • You’re welcome! I like your idea that patients should redesign the hospital gowns! I hope you have better luck with the trial and error & hit and misses. It gets old after while…. doesn’t it? *hugs*

  2. Chris, do you still have your records from the Heart surgery we did to correct your VSD ? I think someone needs to take a gander at those records and your prognosis of the loop in your Aorta. I’m not sur if I have them or not, but I hope you do.. Love Jim

    • I don’t know for sure but I’ll look for them. I’ll talk with you when I come up there around the 16th. I’m not going to stress out about the aorta aneurism until after the CT Scan. Please don’t tell the rest of the family. Please. The scan is scheduled on May 22. I’ll see you before then and bring whatever I can find. I love you!

Thank you for posting a comment. All comments will be reviewed for spam before being posted on this blog. It's only to prevent a spam overload. Thank you! .... Christine

