2015 Happy Jar Revealed…. she opens the jar!

Living On Oxygen for Life

Happy Jar

Happy Jar

This post is more about becoming more motivated about living life while on oxygen. It has shown me that even though my year was filled with challenges, I still had many happy moments to add to my Happy Jar.

This is the happy jar that I made for my 2015 Happy Jar project. I filled it with written down happy moments that happened for me throughout the year. I’m now reusing this jar for my all-exciting happy moments of this year [2016]. If you’d like to read about what Happy Jars are used for, click and read my post that I wrote titled, Happy New Year!! It’s nearly 2015!.

Today, I dumped out the 2015 happy moments and started to read through them. Last year was a tough year for me. I struggled with motivation and breathing problems. With all of that going on, I didn’t think that I had slipped very many “happy” moments in my Jar. As I read through the “moments,” I found myself smiling while I remembered the fun and exciting times I had. This “Happy Jar” has been a great idea! In fact, I’m hoping to fill it up this year!

I hope you created one for yourself last year with me. If you didn’t, start one now! It’s not too late. You don’t have to be super creative with your jar. Mine is a clean Spaghetti sauce jar that I ran through the dishwasher and then painted and used polymer clay to decorate it. Give it a try and do it your way!

I thought I would share my happy moments with you. Let’s see how many I have. Maybe you will recognize some of them! Granted… not every happy moment of 2015 made it in the jar. It was fun pulling out the papers and reading the things I nearly forgot about that happened.

HAPPY JAR 2015

    ~ I just made a batch of Oatmeal Scotchies (cookies) and cleaned the mess. AND I’m not even tired from it! Hooray!
    ~ Results are back on the CT Scan. My aorta is only 4.3cm instead of 5.1cm. YAY! Whew!
    ~ Going to Oklahoma for 5 days for my birthday/anniversary!
    ~ I finished an afghan for my cousin’s baby! I love babies!
    ~ Made Rocco some doggy biscuits- homemade! He loves them!!
    ~ I finished the family Christmas photobook. I ordered an 8×8 book just for us to see how well it turned out. Can’t wait!!
    ~ My mother-in-law gave me a gift of a t-shirt that’s black with blingy cats. I LOVE IT!
    ~ Sore from painting last night. So, I made brownies as my motivational reward. Then, I continued taping trim and walls! Happy Day!
    ~ I finished my Happy Jar (added the cat on the lid) and made decorative papers for my Happy Jar! So Happy!
    ~ I sent an afghan to one of my parents! He wanted my name and date on it. Awwww!
    ~ I went to the doctor today to get the paperwork started for a new Bipap! Saw K at work, mailed a Need a Hug afghan, and then made dinner in the crockpot & cleaned up the mess. SUCCESS!
    ~ Family came for a visit and they tested out the Margarita Machine I got K for Christmas! Great weekend!
    ~ I’m so happy. K and I finished painting the family room walls, hung curtains, and pictures. Then cleaned our mess. It looks awesome!!
    ~ Klondike goes to Paris with sister and her husband.
    ~ Pictures are now coming in from Paris! Klondike is having a blast!!!
    ~ I finished Klondike’s Adventure in Paris photobook that I made for my sister as a thank you for taking Klondike on their vacation.
6 thoughts on “2015 Happy Jar Revealed…. she opens the jar!

  1. This cheered me up. What a great practical way to focus on the good things in life and challenge the blues. I am starting a jar ( I will actually be using a lovely box my daughter made and decorated for me) straight away and I will be recommending this positive habit to all my friends. It is all too easy to focus just on the bad stuff in life, especially since evolution wires us this way for practical reasons. We need to remember which plant is poison, which animal is dangerous and not to stick our hand in the fire. Scary stuff looms large so we know what not to do and to remember what needs to be done to avoid trouble. But it can easily get out of proportion in the modern world and when things can go badly wrong for no apparent reason. It can make us forget the good stuff that makes life worthwhile and why we battle through. We have to take constant action to put things in perspective and remind ourselves that we are lucky to be alive with opportunities all around to be appreciated. The jar is an inspired creation that not only reminds you what good things have happened but also as a suggestion list of things to do that made you feel happy and good in the past and will do so again.One of mine is to visit this site and read your blogs.

    • This is exactly why I started my Happy Jar and want to continue it this year. Waiting a whole year to open it to read everything was hard though. Definitely worth it! I’m so glad you’re starting one Barry!!

Thank you for posting a comment. All comments will be reviewed for spam before being posted on this blog. It's only to prevent a spam overload. Thank you! .... Christine

