A fun adventure to get me outside.

Living On Oxygen for Life

Sometimes it’s hard to get motivated to get my butt outside, especially when it’s either cold or hot outside. K likes for me to stay as active as possible while on my days of feeling good. He also likes for me to push myself a little bit (just a little bit mind you!) even when I don’t feel 100 percent. Ok, well, that’s virtually everyday but let’s not be technical about it, right?

So, what gets me excited enough to get out in my yard? Gardening! Not just any kind of gardening, you know… With flowers and what nots.. I’m talking about growing food! Now my yard isn’t big. K says it’s about the size of a postage stamp but I make it work for me. That’s right… I use raised garden beds and half whiskey barrels because, having Pulmonary Hypertension, bending down is difficult for me. This year, I’m growing potatoes (red & white), spinach, carrots, cilantro, thyme, chiles, Bibb lettuce, garlic and a few onions.

This year (2016) K built this raised bed for me to have more garden space.

This year (2016) K built this raised bed for me to have more garden space.

Last week we had 2 major hail storms that damaged our house and K’s car. I feel a little bad because my van was in the garage. hehe! Here’s a picture I took of the second storm. It was so loud!

This hail did some damage to our house and to K's car.

This hail did some damage to our house and to K’s car.

Thankfully, and quite unbelievably, my gardens survived both beatings! Maybe it’s because of the netting I have over them. I use it to keep out the bugs. I’m looking more and more like a farmer everyday! Even my dwarf orange, lemon, & lime trees survived.

My first attempt at growing carrots!

My first attempt at growing carrots!

My first attempt at growing Bibb lettuce.

My first attempt at growing Bibb lettuce.

Because I use a Bipap, I tend to have a problem with too much air in my tummy sometimes. When I eat iceburg lettuce or onions, it only makes the problem worse. I like salad but most salads have iceberg lettuce in them. I can eat spinach with no problem though. I thought I would try growing the Bibb lettuce as a way to eat a Spinach & Bibb lettuce salad instead.

I like to work around any problems that come up. I call it MacGyvering! Don’t forget to follow my blog to stay up to date with all of my adventurous moments. Happy Easter Sunday everyone!

2 thoughts on “A fun adventure to get me outside.

  1. Reading your blog is very inspiring. I’m actually in the middle of a move to Texas right now. It’s been years since I’ve lived there, but during my last visit and first time on oxygen the heat really got to me just coming out of the car to step a few feet inside. Palpitations are always funny, they’ve been going on for so many years and I still get excited when they come! I can’t wait to settle in and give gardening a try like you!

    • You’re moving to Texas??? Yay!! Texas is huge. Are you moving to North, South, East or West Texas? The weather varies by location. I wrote a little about how I get use to the Summer heat here in this post: https://livingono2forlife.wordpress.com/2013/06/10/well-hot-diggidy-dog/

      When I moved from Indiana to Oklahoma when I was 12, I was blown away by how intense the sun rays and the air temperature is from Late April to October. Take it slow once you get here. It will be very draining for you for a while. So , don’t let it get you down. Just only go out when you have to and use the a/c a lot. In the peak of Summer, carry a bottle of water with you. You’ll want it.

Thank you for posting a comment. All comments will be reviewed for spam before being posted on this blog. It's only to prevent a spam overload. Thank you! .... Christine

