The date is set….for Tikosyn

Living On Oxygen for Life

The date is confirmed for going to the hospital to try Tikosyn. Sometime during April 26, I enter the hospital and supposedly walk out on the 28th as a new and improved heart patient.

My last stay at the hospital was in 2014 when the PH medicine, Opsumit and my heart medicine, Cordarone (which is what I’m currently getting off from), clashed inside my body causing it to become hyperthyroid. That was no fun.

I documented that hospital stay on my blog and you can find it here: Life’s little emergencies. I’ll try to document this stay as well.

I hope everything goes well in that my body can tolerate Tikosyn without causing me breathing problems. I have a lot to take to the hospital but I’m going to narrow it down to my Bipap and mask, some comfy clothes & toiletries, my phone & iPad and hope I can use both in the hospital room to watch movies and communicate with the world. I’m even thinking about taking a small stash of yarn. you knew that was coming, right?

My heart is starting to act up. I stopped taking Cordarone on March 28 and before that, I was already tapering it down slowly over a 2 1/2 week period. Right now it skips and aches often. I hope it doesn’t feel any worse than this because I still have 13 days to go.

It’s time to go find my Wonder Woman underwear because I feel like I’m going to need a little bravery in the hospital. *fingers crossed*

Hey, just to let you know, I have a Need a Hug afghan ready to give away if you want it. It will go to the first person who emails me at goredrider@gmail.com and tells me their breathing problem diagnosis. It’s totally free to you! Lots of love to you all!!

14 thoughts on “The date is set….for Tikosyn

  1. I pray everything goes well while your in the hospital, I have been oxygen dependent for 9 months because I had bilateral pulmonary embolism and dvts in both legs, surgeon said I am lucky to be alive.

  2. Reading your stories during the last 9 months has been very inspiring and helped me just get thru some rough days. Hugs to you!! Thank you.

  3. Christine you are an inspiration to me. I’m not able to adapt to my bi pap. I found your blog and you made me feel like there is hope. I’m wishing good thoughts,karma and prayers for you.

    • Thank you so much! Don’t give up on your Bipap. Mine has saved my life. I know how difficult it is to get use to a new way of sleeping having to deal with a mask on your face and pressured air into your lungs. I didn’t have a choice but to stick with my Bipap. I had to use it or I could’ve ended up very very sick or worse. I hope everything gets better for you. *hug*

  4. I am praying for you every day, Christine. You are truly braver than Wonder Woman. Thank you for keeping us posted on your Tykosyn journey. By the way, I WAS waiting for you to mention yarn as soon as I started reading your list of things to pack for the hospital😊

Thank you for posting a comment. All comments will be reviewed for spam before being posted on this blog. It's only to prevent a spam overload. Thank you! .... Christine

