Change of plans? What?

Living On Oxygen for Life

I get a phone call today from my cardiologist to make sure I didn’t have any other questions before going into the hospital next week. I asked a few basic questions, one being, how quickly does this medicine take effect? We got to talking about Tikosyn and how the doctor will titrate the dose according to how my heart and body reacts to it. I’m sitting on my couch taking notes saying uh huh and ok. The conversation twists and turns to the part of the morning of my admission.

The woman says that the hospital will only call starting from about 8am if they don’t have a bed available. So if they don’t call, I’m suppose to go to the hospital registration/admission. From there, I have to wait around for a bed to become available.

WHAT? That wasn’t what I was told before. Last time, the hospital was suppose to call me when a bed was available and then I go there. I explained to the woman that I use oxygen 24/7, I’ve never been to this hospital before (which makes me nervous because they will only have whatever medical records that this doctor provides to hospital and I’ve only been to his office twice and actually seen the dude once!), and I can’t just wait around for what could possibly be a few hours for a bed. She told me to ask them for oxygen.

Now that K is home from work, I gave him the “Drama Update” and he was just as frazzled as I am about the whole thing. The GOOD news out of the whole conversation is that K can stay in my room with me the whole time if he chooses to which will be a hospital first for us. He always went home. I didn’t blame him. I mean our bed is much more comfortable than the provided chair, even if it does stretch out bed-style.

Today my heart has been skipping quite a bit. I’ve been relaxing a lot yesterday and today. I feel kind of sluggish or as if I have cabin fever or the winter blues. It’s been raining so much here. I’m just ready for some sunny days to bring a sunny smile to my face. Let me bask in the Sun’s warmth so that I may feel the glow of happiness grow into a smile on my face.

Tomorrow I head out to my PCP doctor appointment and catch him up on what’s been going on in the past 2 months. I should write some notes before I go so that I don’t forget anything. I have that much stuff to unload on him. Poor guy. He earns his paycheck with me as his patient. I think I keep things interesting for him though.

Well, I enjoyed this talk with y’all. I hope you did. I just shipped out a Need a Hug afghan to Washington state! Yay! If you want to donate to my Need a Hug project, you can do so by clicking the GoFundMe button. *hugs* Thank you!!! Have a great weekend!

6 thoughts on “Change of plans? What?

  1. WA state is going to be happy to get your hug!😊 Sorry to read about the changes. I will continue to send good vibes that everything goes as well as can be expected with minimal bumps! Sending you sunshine from here! ☀️☀️

    • Thank you! I’m just glad the changes were clarified before the day of admission to the hospital. I’d hate to have been sitting at home wondering what in tarnation was going on. haha! I’ll take any and all good vibes and sunny days!

Thank you for posting a comment. All comments will be reviewed for spam before being posted on this blog. It's only to prevent a spam overload. Thank you! .... Christine

