Up all night…

Living On Oxygen for Life

Officially, it is Friday and Veterans Day. First, I would like to take a moment to say Thank You to all of men and women who have and are putting themselves in harms way to protect our freedom and our way of life. Many have sacrificed their life to give us the freedoms that we should never take for granted. We should always remember the price those men and women, throughout history, have paid for our rights and our freedom of choice.

Last night I was super tired and ended up going to bed at 8pm only to have to get back up at 9pm to take my Tikosyn. Because, you know, that pill has to be taken every 12 stinkin’ hours! Argh! Fear not, I was still super tired and promptly fell right back asleep. That is, until now, 1 o’clock in the morning.

I’m here under the covers in the dark bringing you my late, late, night ramblings of what happened to make me so tired. Yesterday, I had a doctor appointment. I got there a wee bit too early. I had to sit in my van for nearly 30 minutes because I wasn’t sure my portable oxygen tank would last long enough if I went in early. I have a 75 pound liquid oxygen reservoir tank in my van that I use to drive around on and to refill my portable. After about 30 minutes, I went into my doctor’s office for my annual physical. Yay what fun right? Actually, my family doctor is pretty darn cool!

According to all the labs I had done about two weeks prior, it looks like I should live another few years, at least! My doctor was surprised at how awesome my cholesterol and other test results were. Yay! I can continue to eat my pop tarts! Haha! As usual, my bicarbonate was high and my chloride was low but my kidney is keeping my pH level in balance. Thank you Jesus!

We did talk about pain management. Because my lungs don’t work as well as they use to (which wasn’t that great!), my options for pain management is VERY limited. My scoliosis is getting worse in the lumbar area of my spine and causing right hip pain which can be horrible at times when I sit or stand too long. Taking a whole Tylenol3 pill (that has Tylenol and codeine) is far too much for my body to handle. I have to break the tablet into quarters and take a fourth of a pill at a time. Even that much sometimes causes a migraine and troubled breathing. Alcohol has the same effect on me now. Instead of being able to drink a glass or two of wine or alcoholic drink like in the past, I can only drink about 1/3 of a cup before my breathing is affected. I still pour about 1/2 inch of wine in a glass occasionally to drink but never go for refills. It’s just not worth it. I think it affects my heart too much which I think is causing the breathing problems.

When I got home from my doctor appointment, I promptly took my diuretic medicine because I had to skip the morning dose. Then I dove right into making dinner, meatloaf, only to find out K will be late coming home. So instead of a full meal, we ended up eating meatloaf sandwiches. We love meatloaf sandwiches!! I’m not very good at being able to coordinate having all of the meal cooked and ready to sit down at the table to eat at the same time. I just don’t have that talent. haha! K is VERY good at it. He use to be a chef. No, before you ask, he does not cook on a regular basis at home. That’s my job. I don’t know where I went wrong in this scenario because he’s really good.

For the rest of the day, I plan to spend time with K. I am thinking about making a batch of my famous peanut butter cookies. I don’t bake cookies as much as I use to because it’s become harder and harder to mix the cookie dough. I don’t have a heavy duty KitchenAide mixer but I’m hinting towards one for Christmas. I can only get so far with a hand mixer and the rest has to be mixed by hand. The hardest cookie dough I’ve ever had to mix are the Chocolate with peanut butter chip cookies. Next would be Oatmeal Scotchies. Both cookies I LOVE! There’s nothing like a homemade cookie, right?

I’ve already started my next Need a Hug afghan. The last one was sent out to Jenny who lives here in the U.S. Click Need a Hug in the menu above to see how you can get your name on the list for one of my Need a Hug afghans.

I hope everyone has a great day. Stay well and warm. It’s finally down in the 70s here!

Thank you for posting a comment. All comments will be reviewed for spam before being posted on this blog. It's only to prevent a spam overload. Thank you! .... Christine

