Crazy Awesome Weekend with Family!

Living On Oxygen for Life

I had a very long but fun weekend. First was the Pulmonary Hypertension doctor appointment and an Arterial Blood Gas drawn. Then we ate lunch at McDonald’s because we had other things we needed to do. We had to run to Walmart to return some stuff and pick up some forgotten thing from the grocery trip K did the previous day. Plus we picked up a new inhaler at the pharmacy. That was all on Friday.

When we came home from the errands, we got busy finishing up with cleaning the house because family was coming!!!! Yay!

After I made it to bed feeling exhausted, I knew I had to get up way early again for another appointment on Saturday that was a little over an hours drive away.

While we were at the appointment, my sister & her family already arrived at our house (we call it The Chateau), and we finally got home around 2pm. Yay! 

We got to babysit my niece for 4 hours, which was super fun but by the time they got back, K and I were wiped out.  My niece must have some sort of super-charged mega-battery that keeps her pumped up with energy.  I asked to borrow it but I didn’t think it’s transferable. Darn! 

We had so much fun but I’m glad we didn’t go to lunch with them today. It’s time for this girl to crash. I need sleep or at least down time. My niece is 7 and she asked me lots of questions (even taught me a two person hand-slapping song that was called Lemonade. I think?!) about my bipap mask that I was using when she snuck in my room to see if I was awake yet yesterday during my very short nap. She wanted her own cannula. She also wanted to see what it felt like with it connected to the oxygen. 

So, like a fun Auntie that I am, I used it as a learning experience for her. I got her a 7 foot cannula (like the ones used with portable tanks), connected it to one of my oxygen tanks, and I turned the oxygen on to 2 liters first. She wasn’t really impressed. So I told her, “Ok, now this is was it feels like at the amount that I have to use which 6 liters.” Her eyes got really wide when she felt it in her nose and she said, “Whoa! How do you do that?” “Baby girl, I do it because it helps me breathe.” 

I always want to make sure that she knows it’s ok to ask questions about me or my equipment. Curiosity can be a good thing when paired with learning about something that will expand her mind. We had a great time this weekend and I feel happy as I always do when I get to see one or both of my sisters. It’s like medicine to my soul. Sounds a little corny but it works for me. 

4 thoughts on “Crazy Awesome Weekend with Family!

  1. Thank you for your blog. I was prescribed O2 in early November and it’s been such an adjustment for me and my family. I also have limited mobility and that doesn’t help. Your blog has made me feel better about myself and this whole new way of living. Thank you. Also, when I first got my O2 my kids and husband all tried my cannula to see. It’s best if they know what I’m getting to deal with. Thanks again.

    • Hi Vicki… you’re so welcome! I think the hardest thing about using oxygen is the planning of how much oxygen I’ll need to go somewhere and the anxiety that goes with it. It helps having family who tries to understand what you go through. I hope you are doing well. *hugs*

  2. Christine, I thank you for writing this. It is exactly how I feel when I go out to do errands I am on 8 liters of oxygen 24/7 so planning and doing little things can take a toll. Always glad to read that my problems are “normal” problems for people with PH. Keep on posting! take care margie

    • Hi Margie!!! I’m so happy that you’re getting out of the house at 8LPM. You make ME optimistic about my future when I will have to increase my oxygen. Thank you for posting your comment. I really appreciate it! *hugs* Stay well. ❤️

Thank you for posting a comment. All comments will be reviewed for spam before being posted on this blog. It's only to prevent a spam overload. Thank you! .... Christine

