Getting busy and having fun… keeps you happy.

Living On Oxygen for Life

Finding something to do with your fireplace when you feel uncomfortable about using it because you use oxygen is tricky but K managed to do just that. First, we had to …ok ok.. HE had to clean it out. The cobwebs were something I wasn’t going to get close to. (and he’s even afraid of spiders!) He’s so brave! At first, for a Christmas present to each other, we were going to get an electrical fireplace insert. However, we could never decide which one to buy and frankly, we just didn’t know what we were doing. So, K had an awesome idea. I mean totally awesome. Well, it’s awesome to me.

First, came the cleaning out part… like I said just a few seconds ago. Then we shopped on Amazon.com (who doesn’t love that website??) and found the perfect thing to put INSIDE the fireplace!

fireplace

I had to get creative because when we got the candelabra, we didn’t realize it was intended for real candles. So it had a spike where the candles go. I brainstormed about how to be able to use faux candles (which we bought at Big Lots) inside the glass votive candle holders. I came up with 5mm thick craft foam that I cut into circles the diameter of each candle base. It was just thick enough that when I pressed them to each of the candle holders, the metal spike wouldn’t poke the bottom of the glass votive holders. I know.. I’m good! haha! After that, we chose batter-powered realistic candles that have a 5-hour on timer function. K had the greatest idea after that. We noticed it was missing something. He went to a glass store and took the inside wall measurements and had them cut 3 mirrors and now instead of seeing the back of the fireplace, we see the reflexion of the glowing candles.

Since that project is finally done, I moved onto my next one. The fairy garden. I’ve been learning a lot about Polymer Clay through Pinterest (I love that website too!?!). Polymer Clay is what I made my Happy Jar from. I considered that practice for the fairy door that I finished making the other day. Now, I’m going to use a Ball jar to build the fairy house and attach the door to it.

FairyGardenProject
It’s time consuming but it gives me something to do and look forward to when I have days where I don’t feel so great. Remember that raised flower bed I got for Christmas from Santa? Rocco had his picture taken in it. Well, I’m going to plant spinach and some herbs and whatever else I can fit in there. There also will be my fairy garden right there off to the side of the herbs…or whatever is growing!

In between making the bits and pieces of my fairy door and garden, I’ve started yet another project. I don’t normally have so many things going at once. It can be a little confusing and I like to finish one project and then move on to the next. It keeps the excitement going and I have something to look forward to in the future. It gets me out of bed every day. This project, though, I was asked to do. I’m making a family Christmas photo book. I use Shutterfly for all my photo books. I can only work on the book a page or two at a time. It’s very stressful to me to concentrate so hard. (hmm.. that didn’t sound right! *wink*) I want it to be perfect. Here’s the cover of the book. That’s all I’m going to reveal. Everything else is top secret. I want the rest to be a surprise for K’s mom and family. Cleaning up 110 pictures after weeding them out of almost 300 pictures was VERY tedious. That part is NOT fun unless it’s a smaller amount of photos.

AnotherPhotobookProject

I really feel that it’s important to stay active and engaged in life. Find a hobby that you’re interested in. Try a new one. You don’t have to be super creative or artistic. Just do something that makes you really happy. Instead of writing emails, get some cute notecards and hand write to someone. It’s always fun to get a surprise in the mail from someone you know. Heck, get blank notecards and draw a picture on it with crayons for that matter. Oooh that sounds fun. I may have to try that. I’m not good at drawing but I bet my family and friends wouldn’t care! Right? *wink*

Just find some hobby that gets you out of bed every day. Stay well. *hugs*