It’s blazin’ hot here…

Living On O2 for Life

For the past two weeks or so it’s in the upper 90s and in a few days the forecast is 105 degrees. What that means for me is: Stay indoors with the a/c cranked. Well, that’s what I would usually do but life has a way of creating drama. You know, the kind of drama like your “Check Engine Soon” light coming on when I least expected it. Then there’s the strawberry plants that stopped producing! What? I know… I was nearly devastated. haha! There’s more drama that happened but I don’t want to bore you. I want to tell you about the fun stuff!

K and I were fortunate enough to be able to visit with one of my cousins and her family while they were here with their church. There was a choir event that we went to and wow were the kid who sang good! We had a great time catching up. I hadn’t seen them in over 18 years.

You know from the last post that I’m slowly increasing my experience in yeast bread. Well… I experimented with making Honey Oatmeal Wheat rolls. Unfortunately, K doesn’t like wheat or oatmeal in his bread. Lesson learned! So, I shared them with his mother. See picture in the right column under Instagram. If you scroll down you’ll see them. It was a lot of fun! We also ate our first two ears of corn that K grew. Our experiment with growing corn has been successful thus far. We have 7 more ears left growing from a separate, later planted seeds. Whew.. they were delicious and I hope we plant more next year. I’m making quite the farmer out of my man. I’m SO proud!

Unfortunately, one of our pond goldfish kicked the bucket. He was floating belly up one day and we still don’t know why or what caused it. Rest in peace little man… But, we still have 7 left… so… HOORAY Goldfish! haha! My newest Need a Hug afghan is coming along nicely. I already have the recipient in mind to ship it to. I’m hoping to get it finished within a month. *fingers crossed*

This past week has been terribly hot and humid. It’s been trying to rain but in our area it’s only coming down in the lightest sprinkle occasionally which is making it HARD for me to breathe and tired a lot. I want to try to get that yummy Cinnamon Swirl Bread made today. K said, “Double to the cinnamon swirl!” So, if I’m not too tired, I’ll make it today and increase the swirl! haha! I’m going to share half of it with K’s mom. She really liked my first loaf. YAY!

Be well and be careful with this heat. *hugs*

4 thoughts on “It’s blazin’ hot here…

  1. Hello!
    My name is Marta.
    I have ALS, diagnosed January 9, 2018. My onset is bulbar, therefore, the main difficulties I have are swallowing and I am feeling tired due to weakness on my left leg. My doctor prescribed for me to use the BI/PAP to improve my energy.
    But, I read many comments about it.
    My deep concern is that according to some doctors, the use of that machine weakens the breathing muscles. Therefore… shortening the period of life remaining.
    Any comments about it?
    Thank you!

    • Hi Marta, I have been using my bipap since I was about 24 years old which is a little over 24 years now. I have Restrictive Lung Disease due to my scoliosis that deformed my ribs causing less room for my lungs to inhale fully. I would’ve been dead years ago if I didn’t have this machine to assist my breathing when I sleep or whenever I need to give lungs a break as I rest in bed for nap time.

      My advice is, don’t be afraid to try the machine. It could extend your life and give you a better quality of life. It may take you some time to get used to the machine. So if you do give it a try, don’t give up on it. I have a bunch of advice on my blog that can help you be comfortable with your machine. Or you can just email me at goredrider@gmail.com

      Take care!
      Christine

Thank you for posting a comment. All comments will be reviewed for spam before being posted on this blog. It's only to prevent a spam overload. Thank you! .... Christine