Whew! Have I got a lot to unload!

It has been an amazing month off doctor appointment after doctor appointment after… well you get it. We were busy. After the cardiologist appointments in May, I went back to my PCP (primary care physician) to update him.  We decided against the Prevnar shot again. YAY! However, I did tell him that I have a few more appointments lined up. 

Before we went to another doctor appointment, we went to see my FAMILY!!! K & my older sister pulled off a great surprise for me. Awwww…. I know, right? Since I use 8LPM 24/7 and I can only take one of my large liquid reservoirs & my 75lb liquid reservoirs in my van, my sister found me a loaner 10L oxygen concentrator. That way I can use the 10L concentrator set on 6L and my liquid oxygen on 3L. When I’m traveling on vacation, I tend to need more oxygen. I get tired more easily. Bummer, I know. 

While at my sister’s house, I visited with family, my high school best friend-for-life, our family friend (who I consider a sister– she’s just so awesome!), and there was a niece birthday party (her little friends included!). Not only that… K cooked an awesome dinner for everyone. Uh… YUM! There were homemade crab cakes involved. Delicious! 

I finally got to see my niece’s horse. Our little barrel racer has her own horse now. I’m so proud of her. After all of this and keeping up with our 2 dogs we travel with, we headed home which gave me 2 days to rest before I had another doctor appointment. I was wiped out!

This next doctor is the one who monitors my Bipap use. I explained that it just doesn’t feel like it’s enough for me anymore. We decided to up the pressures because everything on the Bipap memory card looked great. So, that’s what I did and I gotta tell you.. it’s like night and day difference for me. Instead of feeling claustrophobic or not getting enough air, now I feel as if my lungs truly have it much easier to breathe and rest while using my Bipap. 

I also had a PFT. My Pulmonary Function Test result wasn’t great but that was to be expect. I could only do 2 parts of the test because the 3rd part required me to remove my oxygen too long. In fact, the tech had to take my oxygen saturation after I did the first part. It was rough but I powered through it. My lung volume is 16% of a person my age, size and weigh. Thanks Scoliosis! Grrr… 😉

The most exciting doctor we went to see for the first time is a Neuromuscular doctor who see patients who have MS or paralyzed and need ventilation. This doctor was SO amazing that my husband really likes her. Seriously, that’s a huge deal! We went to see this doctor for a consult on either my current or future use of a Trilogy. We had a ton of questions but we came up with an idea. I have a spare Bipap machine that I can setup in my family room to use during the day when I feel like I’m struggling to breathe or need a rest. My hope is to stay out of bed more often because that’s where I use my main Bipap when I sleep, power nap or just rest reading. This is what I’m going to try first. If this isn’t enough, we got back to the drawing board and consider a Trilogy.

newsetup

This is my older Bipap that I have set up for use in my family room. K has really taken to this idea. In fact, he is encouraging me to set it up and use it. He got me a larger side table for it and an extension cord to use so that I can use a 10ft hose with my mask. That way I can sit at my chair to watch TV or play on my computer!

Though it is another decline in my health but we are taking this one amazingly well. K better than I am. I did have a brief cry over it. Then I mentally slapped myself and powered through it. I hope everyone is surviving the heat. It’s been extremely hot out here. So take care and if you HAVE to get out, take water with you. 

4 thoughts on “Whew! Have I got a lot to unload!

  1. Hi Christine
    Your positive attitude and good heart are admirable. Keep powering through. I have been there wearing two cannulas with two O2 sources to get through the day and stay active. Your plan to bring the CPap out to the living room is great. What a great way to support yourself and stay connected to your sweetheart and not be tucked in the bedroom. I admire your strength and very much appreciate all that you post. Your story helps me with my story. Keep moving forward. Jan C

  2. So sorry to hear your bad news. Keeping your positive outlook, will make all the difference. Sometimes that is all we can do. Keep moving forward and hoping for the best.
    I just saw my Rheumatologist. He has put me back on Hydroxychloroquine. My Lupus was stable, and I had maintained well enough to stay of that med, for… 3 to 5 years. I still have inflammation in my lungs, from the Pneumonia, and this should help. It would be awesome if the lung doctor can cut my steroids down to my usual dose.
    I am back to my usual 2 liters at home, when inactive. But I still desaturate, and need to up my O2 when I am walking, and when I am out for appointments. I am back to using the tall tanks, as the concentrator does not go high enough, and I really struggle to breathe. Trying to stay positive, and accomplish what I can.

    Thinking good thoughts, and wishing you well. Hang tough Christine! 🙏 🙏 🙏

    • Well…. I’ve had worse news in the past. So this news isn’t so bad. 🙂 When you say tall tanks of oxygen, are you referring to the liquid oxygen or the green-top canister type? I hope you can cut back the steroids too. *hugs*

Thank you for posting a comment. All comments will be reviewed for spam before being posted on this blog. It's only to prevent a spam overload. Thank you! .... Christine