The Next Step

My life has changed since I returned home from vacation. It has been very challenging. It crept up on me. I don’t think I did anything wrong to make everything change. I knew this was coming but I didn’t think it would be so abrupt.

I went from sleeping and napping with my Bipap, to needing my Bipap to drive down to South Padre where we vacationed. While on vacation, I used my Bipap when I made dinner. When I saw a Neuromuscular doctor during the Summer, the doctor suggested a Trilogy machine. At the time, I didn’t think I was ready for that but when I returned home from vacation, I was thinking differently.

I started out using a spare Bipap machine in our family room when I was sitting to watch tv during awake time. I would take it off to make dinner and clean the kitchen. While in the kitchen, I would have trouble breathing. I got short of breath and had to take breaks with my Bipap on. I was exhausted when I finished cooking and cleaning up dinner dishes. I really started to struggle as the next couple of months went by. It wasn’t until I was in the bathroom and had to call for my husband to come help me out of the shower.

Having to need K to help me out of the shower was scary for both of us. My skin was turning grayish blue and I was desperate to get back to my Bipap machine. I had my oxygen at 10LPM and that still wasn’t enough. I went from 8LPM to 10LPM within 2 months time.

Because of this rapid change in my breathing, I decided to go ahead and get the ball rolling on getting me a Trilogy machine. I have it now. It’s a little awkward having to need to wear the mask all the time. Since the respiratory tech didn’t have the hose and mask that I wanted, I use the same mask & 10ft hose as the ones I used with my Bipap. The ten foot hose is handy when I want to park my Trilogy-on-wheels in a central location of my kitchen. This allows me to walk all over the place in the kitchen, dining room and into the laundry room. It’s weird wearing my Bipap mask all the time and being connected to a machine on a IV-like pole that has wheels. I’m just glad that most of my house has wood and tile flooring. Rolling it on a rug take more effort and tires me.

So, now I get to look glamorous! I pretend I’m acting as if I’m doing a Mars exploration experiment. Earth is Mars! The Trilogy is part of my space suit equipment! haha!

Using this machine is not difficult. It’s just requires me to figure out how to do things differently. Now I’m having to drag around a pole and try hard not to get my canula twisted around it or myself wrapped up in tubing. The pole is pretty darn sturdy but having the oxygen tubing attached to the machine wasn’t working for me. So, I moved it back to my mask’s oxygen bleed-in tube. You can see it in the picture shown below.

My biggest hurdle right now is trying to figure out how to wash my hair. I can’t be in the shower without the trilogy on and the trilogy can’t get moisture inside it. I can’t shower with just oxygen on anymore. The last time I tried it was a disaster. Ugh! I got as far as washing my hair and I had to get out. *cue K running to help me*

I would like to hear from the people who use a Trilogy full time. How do you manage to wash your hair if you can’t take this mask off? If I can’t figure it out, I’m going to have to ask for help from K and I don’t want to add one more thing to his growing list of things to do. I want to be as independent as possible.

I had my first outing with my trilogy machine. We now have a lot of stuff hanging off my wheelchair. Two oxygen portables hang off the handle bars and the trilogy sits in my lap because we haven’t figured out a better way to transport it without K having to carry it. Leaving the house wearing it was awkward. I internally gave myself a pep talk once we exited our vehicle. People stare. I know that and it’s fine with me. I am still in that stage where I’m accepting this new phase of my life. I’m doing ok with it. It makes my life a little easier in the ways that I need it to. So, I’m thankful.

What matters is that I’m still alive and I can still smile. It’s hard to eat with this on and I have to use a straw to drink from a cup. But, hey! I’m still alive!!!! Hooray!


14 thoughts on “The Next Step

  1. What a turn, but I love your outlook and how you make it an adventure. Nothing but a positive attitude. I complain when I need to use my oxygen outside. Your bravery and positivity has me realizing I am a big baby. Thank you for sharing and I hope that you improve. Happy New Year.

  2. Go girl! Christine—- I Love your view to look at this like you’re living on Mars. We have the power to change our thinking and change our lives. I admire your strength and bravery to find solutions that keep you going. You’ve been there for me and for many others “living on O2”!! Find something that makes you smile today. Hugs. Jan

  3. Keep on the sunny side! Your sunny attitude is an inspiration Christine. 🙂 I wish I could offer some help, and I hope you find the answers soon. Yup, you have a lot to be thankful for. Still alive! Each day is a gift. 🙂
    Wishing you more good days, than bad, in 2023.

    • Hey there! Sorry for the delay in reply. So much has been going on in my life. Not all bad. Jus some adjustments to deal with. All is looking up and I hope life is treating you well! *hugs* I will be posting soon. =o)

  4. You are a huge inspiration to our daughter Kayla and our family. We have followed your blog since the beginning . We love your positve outlook during all your adventures You are a unique and special person.
    God bless and Happy New Year.!

    • Thank you so much for reading my blog and following along with my adventures. Stay tuned! I may get to go to a rodeo to watch my niece barrel race! I’m curious to see how handicap accessible those places are. Another awaits! 🏇

      Does Kayla still make jewelry? ❤️

      • YES, Since Covid it has slowed down, however she still makes custom orders upon request. Also, she works part time at See’s candy on a seasonal basis . She loves working the cashier and the 30 percent candy discount!
        Can’t wait for the rodeo and other adventures !

      • Unfortunately, I can’t remember why, we didn’t get to go to see her at the rodeo but we did get a video from my sister. I am excited that we plan a trip to see them soon. YAY! OK Candy at a discount??? Sign me up! She is SO LUCKY! =o)

  5. Dear Christine,

    I always enjoy reading your posts and admire your creativity.

    I hope you can continue writing and find a hair washing solution.

    Marlenehttp://www.TheWriteSpot.us

    >

    • I think I got it! 😉 I will update my blog very soon. *hugs* Thank you for continuing to follow my blog.

Thank you for posting a comment. All comments will be reviewed for spam before being posted on this blog. It's only to prevent a spam overload. Thank you! .... Christine